Riverdale Season 1 Episode 1: The River’s Edge

Riverdale Creator: Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa Starring: K.J. Apa, Cole Sprouse Network: The CW First Episode: January 26, 2017
Riverdale
Creator: Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa
Starring: K.J. Apa, Cole Sprouse
Network: The CW
First Episode: January 26, 2017

 

As a new school year begins, the town still reels from Jason Blossom’s tragic death; Archie decides to pursue a career in music; Cheryl Blossom stirs up trouble.

Growing up, I used to be obsessed with the Archie comics, so I was a little surprised when I heard that it was going to be a TV show. I thought that it was going to be a comedy of some sort. Instead, it is a thriller based on a graphic novel called The Road to Riverdale.  The show airs on the CW on Thursdays at 9 pm.  Like the description above states, the show starts off with Jason Blossom being murdered. His twin sister Cheryl was found on the rocks at the edge of Riverdale drenched in water. She was the only one to survive.to-invent-your-own-lifes-meaning-is-not-easy-but-its-still-allowed-and-i-think-youll-be-happier-for-the-trouble

I’m just going to say this. Archie Andrews is the original fuckboy and in this show, he is still a fuckboy. Not only does he like Veronica. he had an affair with his teacher over the summer. Eben though he doesn’t have feelings for Betty now, he’ll develop them because that’s how it was in the original comics. I find Betty Cooper is really sweet, but she needs to speak up more or else she’s never going to get Archine

 Veronica Lodge is actually okay. In the comics, she was actually a bitch, but the made her quite likable in the show. To me, Cheryl Blossom is a cheap knock-off of Lydia Martin from Teen Wolf. She’s trying to be the Queen bitch at Riverdale High, but she’s failing. I don’t really see a place for her in the next few episodes. When I read the Archie comics, I don’t even remember Cheryl Blossom.

Cole Sprouse plays Jughead Jones in the show. It’s actually been a while since I’ve seen Cole Sprouse acting a movie or a TV show, so it’s nice to see him again and I like him as Jughead. Instead of having Jughead being in love with food, Jughead is a writer telling the story of Riverdale.

I found Riverdale to be kind of basic. And I mean Pretty Little Liars basic. I don’t hate the show, but I don’t love it. There’s nothing special about it, but this was only the first episode. I think that Riverdale is only going to get one season. I’ll continue to watch it to see how the show develops.

Leave a Reply

