First Black Bachelortte

Rachel L. Lindsay: Credit Mitch Haaseth/ABC, via Associated Press
Rachel L. Lindsay: Credit Mitch Haaseth/ABC, via Associated Press

I’m so happy! Last night, news broke on Jimmy Kimmel that there’s finally going to be a black Bachelorette.  I’ve only just started getting into the Bachelor/The Bachelorette. The first season that I’ve ever seen is Ben’s season.

Next season’s Bachelorette is Rachel L. Lindsay, a 31-year-old lawyer from Texas. I had high hopes for her to becoming the next Bachelorette since she was the first African-American woman that I’ve seen get the first impressions rose. I have been wanting a black Bachelorette/Bachelor for a long time. When you look at the history of the show, there’s no diversity. When there was an African-American contestant in the show, they never got very far in the competition. It’s as if abc was saying that only white people deserve love.

Lindsay, 31, exclusively tells PEOPLE “I’m happy to represent myself as a black woman in front of America and I’m happy for America to rally behind me and see what it’s like for me to be on this journey to find love. Honestly, it’s not going to be that different from any other season of The Bachelorette.”

Lindsay also said to PEOPLE, “Yes, I’m doing on this huge stage, but again my journey of love isn’t any different just because my skin color is.”

Leave a Reply

